BOOK TOUR (REVIEW): When Summer Ends by Jessica Pennington

Hardcover: 288 pages
Publisher: Tor Teen (April 9, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1250187338
ISBN-13: 978-1250187338



Praise for WHEN SUMMER ENDS

“Bringing the small-town Michigan setting evocatively to the forefront, Pennington’s sophomore novel captures the pleasures of new love.” ―Kirkus Reviews

Praise for LOVE SONGS & OTHER LIES

“A captivating read and a great pick for fans of Morgan Matson and Emery Lord!” ―RT Book Reviews

“Filled with lyrics, love, and late nights, Pennington’s debut novel will appeal to romance fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti.” ―School Library Journal

“Pennington’s debut is a light road-tripping romance about redemption and the love of music.” ―Publishers Weekly

“Reading Cam & Vee’s past and present romance reminds me of This is Us! This is going on my keeper shelf.” ―Simone Elkeles, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author

Love Songs & Other Lies is a music-infused romance about a pair of perfectly imperfect teenagers who will have readers rooting for their happily ever after.” ―Katy Upperman, author of Kissing Max Holden

“Boys in bands, second chance romance, and pitch-perfect chemistry. Love Songs & Other Lies hits all the right notes!” ―Gina Ciocca, author of Last Year’s Mistake

“Fun and full of heart, with a hero who stole my heart!” ―Katie McGarry, author of Pushing the Limits

Aiden Emerson is an all-star pitcher and the all-around golden boy of Riverton. Or at least he was, before he quit the team the last day of junior year without any explanation. How could he tell people he’s losing his vision at seventeen?

Straight-laced Olivia thought she had life all figured out. But when her dream internship falls apart, her estranged mother comes back into her life, and her long-time boyfriend ghosts her right before summer break, she’s starting to think fate has a weird sense of humor.

Each struggling to find a new direction, Aiden and Olivia decide to live summer by chance. Every fleeting adventure and stolen kiss is as fragile as a coin flip in this heartfelt journey to love and self-discovery from the author of Love Songs & Other Lies.

You can purchaseWhen Summer Ends at the following Retailers:
       
MY REVIEW
I received a copy of When Summer Ends for an honest review. What follows is my opinion and mine alone. There was no compensation for this review.
This is Jessica Pennington’s second contemporary fiction. I pretty much fell in love with her writing style in the first book and knew I had to try for this one. I’m glad I did.
The story itself is a fluffy one. One where the romance goes strong, but the struggles aren’t so bad that you are yelling at the insanity of the main leads. You know the type.
Anyways, When Summer Ends, is about two teenagers who are going through big things in their lives and are brought together through their job and a test of fate. Olivia is a very controlled individual, but for the summer, she is ready to let fate decide by the flip of a coin. It isn’t that Aiden is not controlled, it’s more that he has something taken from him and is forced to work around it.
Instead of each chapter being separated by the individuals, both of them are narrating the same chapter. Actually, a better way to describe it is not that the chapters are rewritten with two points of view. They are written in a way where you get two points of view. Like, Chapter One has Olivia talking and then we see Aiden. Chapter Two is in the same format and so forth. It is a different way of writing this type of book and I’m not sure if I’ve seen it before.
And I love it.
I honestly really loved this book. I loved the adorable togetherness Aiden and Olivia have for each other. They are flirty, but awkward. They are sweet and understanding. They are willing to talk out their issues and not give in to the typical romance tropes of misunderstandings and hidden messages.
I can’t help but smile every time I think about the book. I’ve giggled during parts with sheer giddiness. The kind I have with a seriously adorkable Hallmark movie. So, yes,  Jessica Pennington, I’m sold. I’ll be reading more of your stories. Please keep writing them.
Final Rating: 5/5
Photo Credit: Sheena Pearce

Jessica Pennington is no stranger to the combination of love and drama. She’s a wedding planner, after all. A writer since the age of ten—when she sought publication for her poem about a tree—Jessica likes the challenge of finding the humor in a sad situation or highlighting the awkwardness in a romantic one. She lives in a Michigan beach town suspiciously similar to the one in her novel, with her husband Josh and their son, Rory. Love Songs & Other Lies is her debut novel.

WEEK ONE

JULY 22nd MONDAY JeanBookNerd GUEST POST
JULY 22nd MONDAY A Court of Coffee and Books REVIEW
JULY 23rd TUESDAY A Dream Within A Dream EXCERPT
JULY 23rd TUESDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW
JULY 24th WEDNESDAY Kait Plus Books EXCERPT
JULY 24th WEDNESDAY Two Points of Interest REVIEW
JULY 25th THURSDAY Cover2CoverBlog REVIEW
JULY 25th THURSDAY Bookish Kali REVIEW
JULY 26th FRIDAY Movies, Shows, & Books EXCERPT
JULY 26th FRIDAY A Bella Fairy Tale REVIEW


WEEK TWO
JULY 29th MONDAY Twirling Book Princess EXCERPT
JULY 29th MONDAY Insane About Books REVIEW
JULY 30th TUESDAY Casia’s Corner REVIEW
JULY 30th TUESDAY Pages and Pugs REVIEW
JULY 31st WEDNESDAY Gwendalyn’s Books REVIEW
JULY 31st WEDNESDAY A Bookish Dream REVIEW
AUGUST 1st THURSDAY Sabrina’s Paranormal Palace REVIEW
AUGUST 1st THURSDAY Starlight Reads REVIEW
AUGUST 1st THURSDAY TTC Books and More EXCERPT
AUGUST 2nd FRIDAY Crossroad Reviews REVIEW
AUGUST 2nd FRIDAY BookHounds YA REVIEW
*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s