Book #46: Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana

26114202

Forget the ghosts, Mica. It’s real, live people you should fear.
Tragedy has brought Micaela Burgos back to her hometown of Sleepy Hollow. It’s been six years since she chose to live with her father in Miami instead of her eccentric mother. And now her mother is dead.
This town will suck you in and not let go.
Sleepy Hollow may be famous for its fabled headless horseman, but the town is real. So are its prejudices and hatred, targeting Mica’s family as outsiders. But ghostly voices carry on the wind, whispering that her mother’s death was based on hate…not an accident at all. With the help of two very different guys—who pull at her heart in very different ways—Micaela must awaken the hidden secret of Sleepy Hollow…before she meets her mother’s fate.
Find the answers.
Unless, of course, the answers find you first.

I received a copy of this book through the publisher via NetGalley for an honest review.  No compensation was given aside from the obvious enjoyment.

I’m a huge fan of literature and folklore. They are aspects of humanity that tells us the inner truth of humanity, not just the facts, but the emotional and spiritual beings that we are. Literature and folklore are important for cultures and the literary contribution of Washington Irving, based on folklore, has been an inspiration for television as well as gives us a look into a community.

Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana is a young adult thriller that combines Washington Irving, the folklore of Sleepy Hollow, and literary heroes into a fast paced read. From the moment the main character, Mica, steps out of the train, I was pulled into the story. I wanted to know her story and see her find the truth about her as a person and the community she ran away from at a young age.

There were twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. There was a paranormal element that not only worked with the book, but felt a part of Sleepy Hollow itself. I’ve never been to the place, but this book made me feel like I was there. I want to see it even more now after reading this.

It is very hard to write about the characters or the story without spoiling anything. I say that a lot, but I tend to blurt out the great stuff when I am excited and this is a book I don’t want to spoil. What I will say is this . . .

Gaby Triana expertly weaves a story that kept me going. I was binge reading this book and had a book hangover afterwards. I was unable to find the right book to read after this and had to try out a few before settling on one.

The characters are well written and three dimensional. I fell in love with some characters and wanted to hurt others. I could see the world Triana crafted come to life. I want more. I want there to be another book with Mica. What happened to her after the events of this book?

Honestly, this book is amazing as a stand alone, but I would be thrilled with a sequel too.

Leave a Reply

