After 34 pages and over 13k words

You would think that after a first draft and writing the second one in over two months, I’d be a lot farther along. Sadly, that isn’t the case. I think in part it has to do with the subject matter. For some reason, I love writing in a more serious overtone than what I am as a person. I think it’s because humor writing scares me. I mean, really, what is the hardest thing? It isn’t scaring a person or making a person think, it’s doing that while being humorous.
That’s what makes a great humor piece. All of those things combined, a dash of absurdity, and a bunch of OMFG they didn’t! (By the way, they so did). I love Doctor Who because it combines all of those very things. So does Neil Gaiman. And Douglas Adams. And Monty Python. They don’t back down and they make the absurd almost reality. It’s intriguing and something I would love to dabble in one day, but, again, I’m just too afraid.
And so, I’ve decided, that after this trilogy (for it would be insanely idiotic for me to just give up after all this work and I do actually love what I’m writing), I will embark on a journey that will probably get me into trouble.
Then again, who doesn’t like a little trouble now and then?

Leave a Reply

