Book Fourteen of 2012: ECLIPSE by Stephenie Meyer

“BELLA?”
Edward’s soft voice came from behind me. I turned to see him spring lightly up the porch steps, his hair windblown from running. He pulled me into his arms at once, just like he had in the parking lot, and kissed me again.
This kiss frightened me. There was too much tension, too strong an edge to the way his lips crushed mine – like he was afraid we had only so much time left to us.

As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob – knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?
Readers captivated by Twilight and New Moon will eagerly devourEclipse, the much-anticipated third book in Stephenie Meyer’s riveting vampire love saga.

I didn’t care for the writing style of Twilight, but Eclipse is a better easier read. You can see how Meyer is becoming a better writer with each sequential book. That said, I have to say that I don’t care for the main characters. In the beginning, Edward was still his reactive dramatic self and it bothered me. Luckily, he does change. I am able to relate with him better. Sadly, Bella still hasn’t changed much in my thoughts. She is still whiny, disrespectful to her father, and doesn’t seem to have a strong relationship bond with anyone aside from her boyfriend and Jacob.

I was raised in a single parent home, but damn, I have a strong bond with both my parents. It’s like Bella doesn’t have a true relationship with her parents, but she can with Edward and Jacob. Granted, she is a teenager. I guess I wasn’t the typical teen because I was whiny, but not that much. I will give Bella this, she is less of a whiner in this book. And that’s refreshing.

Jacob seemed more fleshed out, which is great because I really like him as a character. Jasper finally seems to have more of a role. His silent standoffish way of doing things didn’t make him all that interesting, but I love his history! Again, in my opinion, Meyer does a better job with her more minor characters than the two main focal. I really would love to read a book about Jasper and Alice. God, to know Alice’s past, the whole story, has to be an interesting read.

Anyway, the book is good. I wouldn’t peg it for a five out of five, but it has a redeemable quality that makes it the best out of the three. Of course, I have Breaking Dawn to read too. Honestly, this series isn’t as bad as I was thinking it’d be. I still like the movies more and I’m not a Twihard (and I can’t understand that fandom), but it isn’t that bad. I would love to see more of the world though. NOT Bella and Edward’s world, but the world that Meyer had made with this series. Seriously, there has to be other vampires that would be just as interesting as Jasper and Alice.

Leave a Reply

