Book Ten of 2012: TORN by Amanda Hocking

When Wendy Everly first discovers the truth about herself—that she’s a changeling switched at birth—she knows her life will never be the same. Now she’s about to learn that there’s more to the story…
She shares a closer connection to her Vittra rivals than she ever imagined—and they’ll stop at nothing to lure her to their side. With the threat of war looming, her only hope of saving the Trylle is to master her magical powers—and marry an equally powerful royal. But that means walking away from Finn, her handsome bodyguard who’s strictly off limits…and Loki, a Vittra prince with whom she shares a growing attraction.
Torn between her heart and her people, between love and duty, Wendy must decide her fate. If she makes the wrong choice, she could lose everything, and everybody, she’s ever wanted…in both worlds.
As a special gift to readers, this book contains a new, never-before-published bonus story, “One Day, Three Ways,” set in the magical world of the Trylle

A few books back I started Amanda Hocking’s Trylle trilogy. The first book was amazing and I’ll have to say, the second one was even more up to par.

Out of the two books, the second is my favorite, but of course I still have one more book from the trilogy. I could read it now, but then I’d miss Hocking and her writing. I have to admit, I am quite in love with this woman. I read her blog all the time and read her books. If we were ever to meet physically, I’ll probably have celebrity shock or be incessantly talking that she would have to slap me. However. I do know that her humor is up my alley (from reading the blog of course).

Anyways, enough gushing about Hocking. Now to the book. IT WAS AMAZING! I have heard people equate this trilogy to the Twilight Saga and I can’t see any comparisons except for a girl in love with two boys. The second boy in the triangle , Loki (my favorite), is smug, a smartass, and above all, he’s all about the “let’s run away and be happy”. I admit, I have always imagined myself with that kind of guy. Though I doubt my husband would whisk me away like that, he is at least smug and a smartass.

Anyway, Loki is the complete opposite of Finn in looks and personality. It’s refreshing to see polar opposites. The cool thing about Hocking’s trilogy is that Wendy, the protagonist, isn’t “in love” with Loki at the moment. I love the fact that we aren’t left with a protagonist who is moping about not wanting to hurt people (can anyone say Bella?).

Wendy also has changed between the two books. In the first one she seemed to lack in power, was scared, and naive. Not a good mix for what her role is in life. HOWEVER, in TORN the reader sees Wendy go into the space of power. She’s taking the initiative and is learning to control what she can and transform what she can’t control. She is quickly a force to be reckoned with. I love that the reader gets to see a change in the character. I haven’t read the other books of Twilight, but at least in the movies, Bella hasn’t changed much. She’s still whiny and says she wants to protect herself, but can’t. She’s left with werewolves and vampires doing it. Making her look to be the damsel in distress. NOT WENDY. Oh no, this girl is learning the tricks of the trade and though I am not ready to say she is kick ass, I’m sure by the next book I’ll be pumping my fists like a Jersey girl screaming “That’s right!”.

I feel adequate enough to let you guys in on the characters for a bit, but I honestly don’t want to say anymore. All you guys need to know is that, though Wendy isn’t Katniss, she’s definitely not a Bella. She is a strong woman in her own way and honestly, I love Wendy more so than Katniss. Wendy has human emotions, human thoughts, and the human drive that makes her shine. I applaud you, Amanda Hocking.

One thought on “Book Ten of 2012: TORN by Amanda Hocking

Leave a Reply

