Point of View

One of the biggest and most difficult aspects to writing is the point of view. There are many different point of views that a manuscript can be written in and the method you write is important to what information the reader knows as well as the characters.

I like to call this “Reader Knowledge”, which is akin to “Gamer Knowledge”. In case you are not a gamer, “Gamer Knowledge” is a term used by players of Dungeons and Dragons as well as other RPGs (Role Playing Games). The difference between “Character Knowledge” and “Gamer Knowledge” is that a gamer can know what is being planned in the future. However, the character must be played without this knowledge. This is similar to the reader and character knowledge relationship in literature.

For instance, when you read a book in first person, you only know what your narrator knows. This is good because it can make you just as surprised as the focal character when a big realization comes forth. The downside is that the character could seem too perfect or annoying, because we all see ourselves like that. Hell, right now I’d be narrating my life as a soap opera where I am being victimized, but I’m sure other people would be thinking me as the villain. The thing is, most young adult paranormal/romance books are written in first person. If I write in this way, I would be following a comfortable format for readers, but run the risk of not caring for my character enough to pursue her story.

Another point of view is the Third Person Limited. Which is similar to first, but the narrator is the outside source, writer, or, what I like to think, GOD. What I like about this point of view narration is that the reader only gets what the writer wants the focal character to also see, but the reader won’t be constricted to the possible skewed thoughts of the main character/narrator. I would be able to describe the main character accurately. This could also help the reader relate to the main character better because the outside forces will be seen accurately and help the reader determine the character’s motives better. However, I run the risk of throwing out the reader’s comfort zone.

So, because of this dilemma I haven’t started writing. I know, it’s a silly thing to prevent me from even putting a word down, but for how I want to start this . . . it’s pretty important.

Leave a Reply

